A Playlist for Me

Because John, my husband, is a techno-whiz, I know very little about the electronics in our house.

We have a “set-up”. There is a 55″ high definition TV, a sound system, a DVD player, a set-top box (?), a computer, and really about six or seven other black boxes. They are all connected through hundreds of wires and cables, and they all have their own remote, and I can’t even turn the TV on. We don’t have cable or satellite but we have 12 channels and we have Netflix (the Canadian version, which doesn’t have as many shows as the American version, which really makes little difference since there is very little we want to watch anyway). We also have Filmon, which allows us access to some British shows, among others, and I do enjoy some of their mystery series like Midsommer Murders. We can also use YouTube to play shows and music.

So here is what my husband of 49 years, 11 months, and 20 days does for me on a typical evening. He sets all of this up on his phone and they form a queue and play one after the other.

We start off with one or two ABBA songs to get things going.  Then maybe he’ll play a couple of songs by the Travelling Wilburys. I just love them. Next we might watch Escape to the Country, a British home-finding show. The last one we watched was set in Cornwall, UK.

Then we settle in with beautiful classical music playing while paintings by Claude Monet are shown on the screen. It takes my breath away! Another favourite is The Flower Duet song from Lakme, sung by Anna Netrebko and Elena Garanca. It is so beautiful.

We then go flying possibly in Norway or British Columbia, or maybe experience a terrifying landing at St. Martin. We come back to earth with some gorgeous piano music played by Ernesto Cortazar. He is my new favourite artist. He has written and performed countless pieces all of which are stunningly beautiful.

I don’t want to make anyone jealous, but often all this is played to the accompaniment of John giving me a foot rub while I relax and look and listen.

This is my Playlist. Why would I want to learn to turn the TV on anyway?

What  would be on your Playlist?

Have a great day! – Maureen

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. Well it sounds to me that you have it made with such a wonderful husband in John, I am so very happy for you both. I am not a jealous person but the foot rub is making me a bit envious, lol. 👣 😄

Leave a comment